## **OSCEOLA COUNTY PUBLIC SAFETY COMMISSION**

The Osceola County Public Safety Commission met in the meeting room at the Osceola County Public Safety building, Sibley, Iowa on Wednesday, April 12, 2023 at 5:30 P.M. for their regular monthly meeting.

**MEMBERS PRESENT WERE:** Sheriff Kevin Wollmuth, Jerry Helmers, LeRoy DeBoer, Patrick DeVries, Susan Sembach, Jerry Johnson, Arlyn Pedley, Sec. Brenda Hibbing – Absent Lynelle Thiner, Russ Meier, Paul Heitritter – Guest – Deputy Sheriff Shane Nellis

Chairman Arlyn Pedley called the meeting to order with roll call at 5:30 P.M.

Motion was made by Jerry Johnson and seconded by LeRoy DeBoer to approve the agenda, which was emailed prior to the meeting. Motion carried unanimously.

Motion was made by Susan Sembach and seconded by Patrick DeVries to approve the minutes of the March 8, 2023 meeting; which were emailed prior to the meeting. Motion carried unanimously.

Claims were reviewed and discussed. Motion by Jerry Helmers and seconded by Jerry Johnson to approve the claims for payment. Motion carried unanimously.

Motion was made by LeRoy DeBoer and seconded by Susan Sembach to approve the 3<sup>rd</sup> quarter quarterly (Jan/Feb/March 2023). Motion carried unanimously.

Resolution #342 approving an application for funding for the execution of a mini grant from the Lyon Co Riverboat Foundation for the purchase of a light bar, which was approved/voted on via email on March 24, 2023. Motion by Patrick DeVries to formally approve the resolution, which was seconded by Jerry Helmers. Ayes: 6, Nays: 0, motion carried unanimously.

Sheriff Wollmuth discussed the purchase of a new patrol car from the 2023/2024 budget, from Stivers Ford. Stivers Ford has a Ford Explorer on hand now and would hold until July. Commission could purchase from Stivers through Papik to stay local. Motion by Jerry Johnson and seconded by LeRoy DeBoer to approve purchase through Papik with the Sheriff's discretion on the price. Motion carried unanimously.

Motion was made by Jerry Helmers and seconded by Susan Sembach to set the next meeting for May 10, 2023 at 5:30 P.M. Motion carried unanimously.

With no further business, Jerry Johnson made a motion to adjourn at 5:40 P.M., which was seconded by LeRoy DeBoer. Motion carried unanimously.

Chairman Arlyn Pedley

Respectfully submitted by Brenda Hibbing