OSCEOLA COUNTY PUBLIC SAFETY COMMISSION

The Osceola County Public Safety Commission met in the meeting room at the Osceola County Public Safety building, Sibley, Iowa on Wednesday, January 4, 2023 at 5:30 P.M. for its regular monthly meeting.

THOSE PRESENT WERE: Sheriff Kevin Wollmuth, LeRoy DeBoer, Russ Meier, Paul Heitritter, Patrick DeVries, Lynelle Thiner, Jerry Johnson, Arlyn Pedley, Sec. Brenda Hibbing – Absent – Jerry Helmers

Chairman Arlyn Pedley called the meeting to order with roll call at 5:30 P.M.

Motion was made by Jerry Johnson and seconded by LeRoy DeBoer to approve the agenda; which was emailed prior to the meeting. Motion carried unanimously.

Motion was made by Lynelle Thiner and seconded by Russ Meier to approve the minutes of the December 14, 2022 meeting as printed; which were emailed prior to the meeting. Motion carried unanimously.

Motion was made by Patrick DeVries and seconded by LeRoy DeBoer to retain Arlyn Pedley as Chairman of the Commission for 2023. Motion carried unanimously. Motion was made by Lynelle Thiner and seconded by Russ Meier to retain Jerry Johnson as Vice-Chairman for 2023. Motion carried unanimously. Motion by Lynelle Thiner and seconded by Paul Heitritter to appoint Becky Marco the County Treasurer as treasurer of the Commission. Motion carried unanimously.

Claims were reviewed and discussed. Motion by Lynelle Thiner and seconded by Jerry Johnson to approve the claims for payment. Motion carried unanimously. Motion by Jerry Johnson and seconded by Russ Meier to approve any regular claims that come in yet, due to early meeting. Motion carried unanimously.

The 2nd Quarter Quarterly (Oct, Nov, Dec 2022) was reviewed. Motion to approve by Patrick DeVries and seconded by Paul Heitritter. Motion carried unanimously.

Sheriff Wollmuth presented the proposed 2023/2024 PS budget totaling \$1,436,803; along with each entity's figures. Commission will present to their respective councils.

Motion made by LeRoy DeBoer and seconded by Jerry Johnson to set the next meeting for February 8, 2023 at 5:30 P.M. Motion carried unanimously.

With no further discussion, Russ Meier made a motion to adjourn at 5:50 P.M., which was seconded by Paul Heitritter. Motion carried unanimously.

Chairman Arlyn Pedley

Respectfully submitted by Brenda Hibbing