top of page

About Osceola County







Osceola County was organized in 1871 and was originally part of Woodbury County which was called Wahkaw County.  Osceola County encompasses 397 square miles located in the northwest corner of Iowa.  Osceola County consists of the towns of Sibley, Ocheyedan, Ashton, Melvin, and Harris.  The highest point in Iowa is located just north of Sibley and named Hawkeye Point. 

The Osceola County Sheriff's Office is charged with meeting the Public Safety needs of its residents and visitors by providing county-wide law enforcement.  The Sheriff maintains the county jail, provides courtroom security, and prisoner transport.  It also investigates all criminal offenses such as: drug investigations, burglaries, theft, sexual abuse, domestic abuse, and child abuse.  The Sheriff's Office handles all civil process such as condemnations, abandoned vehicles, and evictions.  The Sheriff's Office has a county-wide radio and telecommunication center and responds to hazardous material events and clandestine methamphetamine lab sites. It also enforces all traffic laws and investigates motor vehicle accidents.


bottom of page